News Article

Click for details on our Monthly Podcast...
East Antrim Old Vehicle Club Gears Up For Its Annual Cavalcade
Posted:26 July 2013


article photo

(L-R) Dolores Woodside from Alzheimer’s Society; Brian Hamilton (Chairman Portrush Committee); Iain Patterson (EA Davies Sponsor of the Cavalcade); Derek Clark (EAOVC President); Sheelagh Wilson from Alzheimer's Society and the Mayor, Alderman Fraser Agnew.


East Antrim Old Vehicle Club (EAOVC) is gearing up for its 12th Annual Belfast to Portrush Cavalcade which starts at Mossley Mill on Sunday 4 August.

This year’s event will see approximately 110 vintage and classic cars gather at Mossley Mill from 8.30am before they journey to Portrush via Glengormley, Templepatrick, Antrim, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Coleraine and Portstewart. The route provides an opportunity for spectators to see popular classics such as Austin 7’s,Morris Minors, MG’s and Triumphs. The cavalcade will end at the Dunluce Centre in Portrush where it will form a static display from 12.30–4pm.

The cavalcade event is a roaring success every year and over the past eleven years, the East Antrim Old Vehicle Club has done a fantastic job of raising much needed funds for various local charities.

This year the event which is raising funds for the Alzheimer’s Society, is sponsored by Glengormley based insurance brokers EA Davies & CO Ltd.

Iain Patterson Managing Director of EA Davies & Co commented:

“We have had a long and successful history in supporting East Antrim Old Vehicle Club and wish them every success in what is a not –to-be -missed event. The money raised by the East Antrim Old Vehicle club will help the Alzheimer's Society, which is a charity dedicated to improve the quality of life of people affected by dementia.  Over 19,000 people are living with dementia in Northern Ireland and this is expected to increase faster in NI than anywhere else in the UK.”

For  further information on the cavalcade, please contact EAOVC Chairman David Lauro on  07779 430582 or Brian Hamilton 07955 053219.





Bookmark & Share this page:
© Newtownabbey Borough Council 2015